Share/Unshare Your Mind Map

This article will help you to share or unshare your mind map with other users. It includes the following steps.

 

  • Share your mind map via email.
  • Manage map permissions.
  • Share your mind map using a share link.
  • Unshare your mind maps.

 

Please note..

This article relates to a new, beta version of MindMeister. If you're not using it yet, you'll need this article for support on this topic.

How to Share or Unshare Your Mind Map

 

Share a Map via Email

 

You can share your map with an unlimited number of friends or colleagues via email. 

 

To share a map via email:

 

  1. Click Invite in the top-right corner of the screen (or click (i) in the top-left of the screen and the Invite.)
    share1_2x.png

  2. Enter the name or user group (if you belong to the same organization) of the person you wish to share the mind map with. Alternatively, enter their email address.
    share2_2x.png

  3. Add all the people you wish to share the mind map with. 
  4. Select a permission level for the invited person(s).
    share3_2x.png

  5. (Optional) Add a personal message that tells the person(s) you have invited more about your map.
    share4_2x.png

  6. Click Invite to send the invitation(s).
    share5_2x.png

Map Permissions

 

While sharing a map, you can choose between 2 levels of permissions.

 

  • Can View allows the invited person to see the contents of the map (including any links and attachments), but not to add or delete topics.
  • Can Edit allows the user full editing permissions of the mind map. 

 

You can change these permissions at any time. Click the (i) in the top-left corner of the screen, then the ellipsis, then select Manage members.

A third permission level, Administrator, can be set in the Manage members menu.

 

Share a Map Using a Share Link

 

  1. Click on the ( i ) in the top-left corner of the screen.
    share7_2x.png
  2. Click the switch below Share link to generate a link.
    share8_2x.png

  3. Copy and paste the link to the people you wish to share the mind map with.
    share9_2x.png

Unshare a Map

 

Unshare a map via link

 

If your share link has fallen into the wrong hands, you can generate a new share link for your mind map. When a new link is created, the old link becomes invalid. 

  1. Click on the ( i ) in the top-left corner of the screen.
    share7_2x.png

  2. Click the switch below Share link to deactivate the old link.
    share8_2x.png
  3. Click the switch again to generate a new link.
    share10_2x.png

  4. Copy and paste the link to the people you wish to share the mind map with.
    share11_2x.png

Please note that anyone you previously shared the map with via link won’t be able to access the map without the new URL.

 

Uninvite via the Manage members menu

 

You remove access for individual users from the Manage members menu. 

 

  1. Click the (i) in the top-left corner of the screen.
    share7_2x.png

  2. Click the ellipsis, then select Manage members.
    share12_2x.png

  3. Hover over the user you wish to revoke access for. Then click the x next to their name.

 

 

If you’re still having trouble…