This feature is available to all users
Share your mind map or whiteboard with other users via e-mail invitation or a shareable link to collaborate in real time. You can also assign other users read-only or editing privileges to protect your data and work together more effectively.
Whiteboards use the same share dialog and roles as mind maps, so the steps below apply to both.
Invite Other Users Via E-Mail
- Click Share in the top-right corner of the mind map or whiteboard to invite other users.
- Enter the email address of the user you'd like to invite (separate multiple addresses with a comma).
- Click Share and choose whether you'd like to assign your invitee editing or read-only privileges.
- Enter a personal message to your invitee.
- Click Share Map to send your invitation.
Share Your Mind Map or Whiteboard Via a Shareable Link
- Open a mind map or whiteboard.
- Click on Share in the top-right corner.
- Select Contributor or Viewer to define the role and rights of the other users.
- If you select Contributor, the new users can edit the mind map or whiteboard.
- If you select Viewer, the new users cannot write/edit anything, but can only view the mind map or whiteboard.
- Click on Copy link. You can now share the link as you wish.
Share a mind map or whiteboard without others having to create an account
Anyone can share a mind map without requiring others to create an account. However, Basic users can share a view-only link, while paid subscribers can provide editing rights through shareable links. Find out more here.
If you don't want other users to create a MindMeister account or log in to view or edit your mind map or whiteboard, please use the Share a mind map or whiteboard via a Shareable Link option above.
In this case, users can access your mind map or whiteboard directly via the link - without logging in - anonymously, depending on the shared role (read or edit).
If the invited user wishes, they can create a free MindMeister account at any time by clicking on “Register”.
What can each role do on a whiteboard?
The roles on a whiteboard work as follows:
- Author: Only the author can delete a whiteboard.
- Content Manager: Any Content Manager can rename the whiteboard.
- Contributor: Can edit the whiteboard and can see and change who it is shared with.
- Viewer: Can view, present and export the whiteboard, and nothing else.
On a view-only whiteboard, the tools and the undo/redo buttons are hidden. The right-click menu only offers Copy, Export, Select all and Print.
Viewers can export whiteboards, but not mind maps
During the beta, Viewers can export and present whiteboards. On mind maps, Viewers cannot export.
Remove Collaborators from Your Mind Map or Whiteboard
The users you've invited to your mind map or whiteboard (and the shareable link you've generated) will appear in the manage members menu. Remove users from this list to immediately revoke their access privileges. To do this:
- Open the Dashboard.
- Select the members icon below the map title.
- Next to each member, you can select whether and which access the person should have. Click Remove Access from the drop-down menu.
Change Users' Access Privileges
You can modify users' access privileges from the Manage members window. To do this:
- Open the Dashboard.
- Select the members icon below the map title.
- From this window, you can manage the users who've been invited to your mind map or whiteboard, including those accessing via a shareable link.
- Click on a user's current access privileges (Viewer = can view/Contributer = can edit) to change them.