Delete and restore mind maps

Who can use this feature?

- Only Content Managers can move a mind map to the trash.
- Only users on a Personal, Pro or Business plan can open the trash to restore mind maps or delete them permanently.


You can move mind maps to the trash or delete them by moving them to the trash. Paid users can recover and restore trashed mind maps indefinitely.

You can also permanently delete mind maps from the trash.

On the Basic plan and over your map limit?

On the Basic plan, you can access your 3 oldest mind maps. Any other mind maps are grayed out. When you move one of your 3 accessible mind maps to the trash, the next oldest grayed-out mind map becomes accessible again. On the Basic plan you can't open the trash. After you move a mind map there, you can only get it back by upgrading to a paid plan. To learn more, see Changes to team maps and map limits.


Move a mind map to trash

You can move mind maps individually in the trash:

  1. Click on the three dots (...) (Map Actions menu) on the right.
  2. Select Move to Trash.

You can also move several mind maps at once in the trash.

  1. Select several mind maps by ticking their boxes.
  2. Click on the three dots (...) (Map Actions menu) on the top.
  3. Select the option Move to Trash.

Note

Only Content Managers can move a mind map to the trash. If you are not a Content Manager, the menu shows Leave this map instead, which removes you from the list of collaborators without deleting the mind map. To learn more, see Leave a map you no longer need access to.


Restore a mind map that has been moved to the trash

Paid MindMeister users can restore trashed mind maps indefinitely. To restore a trashed mind map:

  1. Open MindMeister.
  2. Click Trash on the left sidebar.
  3. Hover your mouse over a trashed map and click the three dots menu (...).
  4. Select Restore map from the dropdown menu.

    HC Restore 20250417.png

Restored mind maps will immediately appear in your mind map list again.


Permanently delete mind maps

You can permanently delete mind maps that have been moved to the trash by clicking on Delete forever in the menu.

HC Delete forever 20250418.png

Warning

Deleting your mind maps will delete them permanently and irreversibly. In order to conform with data protection regulations, mind maps deleted in this way are completely unrecoverable, even by Meister support staff. 

Long story short: be careful when you delete a mind map permanently. This action can't be undone!


Was this article helpful?